My First Book Review!

Hello Readers!

So I’ve been asked to write a review another series of Young Adult books, the Red Rock Ranch books. I just finished the first one last night, titled “Lucy’s Chance”, and I have to say, I really enjoyed it.

One of the things I enjoy about reading Young Adult books as an adult, is that they are usually light, fun, easy reads. Even those with darker undertones (such as the Hunger Games or Divergent Series), are typically easy reads. While I really enjoy reading classics (F. Scott Fitzgerald and Hemingway are my two favorite authors) sometimes, you just need to switch it up a bit.

Anyway, so back to the actual book! Lucy’s Chance follows sixteen year old Lucy, a rider who is spending her summer working at the Red Rock Ranch, a resort that offers trail rides, Western rodeo events, and plenty of drama. Lucy is a little out of her element at the ranch, since she’s a traditional English rider, but it’s when she meets a wild and dangerous horse that she really begins to shine. I won’t spoil any of the plot points for you, but I’ll also mention there’s a cute cowboy, and a cute, but terribly rude, rival rider. All the makings for a good YA story.

Throughout the book, I found myself relating to Lucy a lot. Which of us hasn’t found a crazy horse that we’ve fallen in love with, convinced that if we could just get through to them, we could have the type of relationship that dreams are made of? Goodness knows I have. There’s a lot in Lucy that reminds me of myself at that age, and I enjoyed reading as she matured and grew throughout the book.

Bottom line is, I give this book two thumbs up, and highly recommend it to anyone that’s a fan of the Showjumping Dreams or Loxwood series. Interested? See the link below to purchase the first book!

Lucy’s Chance

Leave a Reply

